Story behind The Pump House
the history behind the pump house
Here at Wiston, we are very excited to have opened our first self-catered holiday cottage – The Pump House. Nestled in the beautiful surroundings of the South Downs, encompassed by nature and friendly sheep, this holiday cottage is the perfect destination to unwind. Prior to this becoming a luxury escape, the Pump House was in fact an old water pumping station. We wanted to dig a little deeper into the history of the unique building, and were lucky enough to find the original architectural drawings. Below are some images of the original plans which date back to 1909 – the pumping station was built a few years later. The building was later converted for residential use, where refurbishment took place in 2012. This was refurbished further in 2023 by our brilliant building team and became The Pump House.
The above images show the water supply to Wiston Park and a map of the estate. The Pump house is situated in the top left hand corner, showing the direction of the supply.
The Pump House original architectural drawings from 1909, showing the old name ‘Wiston Pumping Station’. Since the refurbishment in 2023, many of these features have been kept – including the beautiful big windows.
Original blue prints from 1909, showing the logistics of the working pump to the water supply.